Who owns a Turbo Duo and could help me troubleshoot?

Non-3DO related chat here please.

Moderators: Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Who owns a Turbo Duo and could help me troubleshoot?

Post by Trev » Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:39 pm

Just hooked my unit back up, and am encountering some issues w/sound ...

Also, know of any good forums dedicated for the TG16/Duo?
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Fri Aug 26, 2011 2:55 am

I dunno, but I would like to get a duo. Would even trade my TG-16 with another system for one. :/
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:18 am

What would the other system be? (just curious, I'm not necessarily looking to trade)
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:05 am

off the top of my head, um... either a NES, SNES, Saturn, N64, Dreamcast, GameBoy Color or GameGear. I might have others but it's 2am (blame Pepsi) and I'm not going into the room. Oh yeah I have a boxed Wonder Wizard and a small table-top Pac-Man arcade but it's a battery operated version. god I'm tired.

where are my magazines?
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

acem77
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Ohio

Post by acem77 » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:02 pm

it's a few bad caps in the top left corner.
you can heat them with a solder iron to see if its gets worse or cool them with canned air and listen for an improvement, when you find ones that cause a change replace those with same rating. that’s what I did.

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Fri Aug 26, 2011 10:35 pm

3DO Experience wrote: it's 2am (blame Pepsi)
I thought you drank caffeine free ... :lol:


@acem77, thanks for the info. I actually watched a vid after I posted this that showed how to swap them. I will try your heating cooling suggestion first though.

I guess the later Japanese models eliminated the design aspects that led to the sound fluctuation problem.
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
Mobius
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by Mobius » Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:58 am

I have a Duo. You probably have a unit with bad capacitors. It happens all the time to Duos.

This is, by far, the best TG-16/PCE/Duo forum: http://www.pcenginefx.com/forums/index.php

Their repair/mod forum has several threads about capacitor replacements.

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:20 am

Thanks for the link Mobius, I'll check it out.
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

**ck me, I'm a douche.

Post by Austin » Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:40 am

**** me. Disregard this (3doexp and 3dokid can read what this originally was, I'm sure ;D)

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:22 pm

LOL Austin


Well now that I'm somewhat awake I really can't say I can think of any other systems. I didn't mention that my TG-16 is boxed or that I have a boxed NES and NES2. I was pretty amazed to find the TG-16 still with the box but not as amazed as when I found a boxed 2600 6-switch.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Post Reply