Goldstar 3DO question

All general 3DO chat here please.

Moderators: 3DO Experience, Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
weisguy119
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:09 am

Goldstar 3DO question

Post by weisguy119 » Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:12 am

Is there any way of telling if my Goldstar 3DO is the model that can't play Po'ed, and a couple other games, without locking up? I read this was a problem with early Goldstar models but I don't know how to tell which model mine is. It works fine with my Way of the Warrior game, but that's the only 3DO game I have at the moment. I don't want to pay big retro game dollars for an out of print 3DO game only to find my console won't play it.

weisguy119
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:09 am

Post by weisguy119 » Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:26 am

I guess I should've looked around the forums a little before asking. It seems I have the second Goldstar console. Phew! I still remember reading somewhere that the Goldstar model had limited memory which caused lock-ups on some games (PO'ed being the only one I can remember at this time). Was this all Goldstar models, or just the first one?

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:01 pm

As far as I know, all 3DO s have the same amount of memory. What exactly do you mean by lock-ups? The game freezing?

fish
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Lancs Uk

Post by fish » Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:13 pm

I know the Goldstar had some problems with one or two games. When I had a Goldstar model Space Hulk would lock up when the Genestealer came up close. That was the PAL model, not sure if it was a problem with NTSC.

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:01 pm

I have read about that problem. My Space Hulk game has never frozen on my Goldstar player though, so perhaps it it a Pal only issue.

User avatar
Lemmi
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1189
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:10 pm
Location: Mich

Post by Lemmi » Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:44 pm

i didnt have any of those games when my Goldstar was my main system, and ive been using the FZ10 since i bought it

with all the supposed problems related to the Goldstar i havent run across any of them
Ex-3DO collector extraordinaire , but i still have my collection
Villagephotos is dead, need to find my old pics and find another host

rexel
SPAMMER
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: Bicester, UK

Post by rexel » Tue May 01, 2007 12:08 am

I've got a Goldstar and it locks up in Space Hulk when the Genestealers get close up; bummer :cry:
But I think I have a 2nd generation Goldstar as it's just a tray that pops out; for what it's worth, it was manufactured in June 1995 and its model no is GDO202P.
How big is this list of games that won't run on it? Is it really one or two games?

User avatar
bitrate
3DO DEMI-GOD
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:35 am

Post by bitrate » Tue May 01, 2007 12:45 am

I plan on starting a thread for discussion on the Goldstar early model/late model differences similar to my thread on the FZ-1 differences.
At the moment though, I still have some technical information to add to the FZ-1 differences thread, and then I'll start in on the Goldstar :wink:

fish
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Lancs Uk

Post by fish » Tue May 01, 2007 5:19 pm

I don't think the Goldstar had problems with many games. Although when I had my Goldstar back in the 90's I didn't purchase a lot due to being a scruffly little schoolkid!! So maybe some of the lesser known games are incompatable as well? I never had any problems with Po'ed, which was mentioned at the start of this thread.

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Tue May 01, 2007 7:36 pm

rexel wrote:I've got a Goldstar and it locks up in Space Hulk when the Genestealers get close up; bummer :cry:
But I think I have a 2nd generation Goldstar as it's just a tray that pops out; for what it's worth, it was manufactured in June 1995 and its model no is GDO202P.
How big is this list of games that won't run on it? Is it really one or two games?
That's very interesting. Welcome to the forum by the way. The reason that it's interesting is that Freedo (the 3DO emulator) also locks up when playing Space Hulk in precisely the same way.

...The ROM dumps might be the problem with freedo!

I know, by the way, it doesn't help you but you may want to track down a Panasonic machine as the appear to be rock solid. I don't think I have ever had a problem.


3DO kid.

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Wed May 02, 2007 4:09 pm

the common bios rom floating about the net is the FZ-10. Although I have seen the Goldstar Bios too.

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Wed May 02, 2007 7:40 pm

I used the Goldstar one - simply because some magazine said it was more compatible - the crap thing is - I didn't even question, even though i knew better!

User avatar
bonefish
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:22 pm

Post by bonefish » Thu May 03, 2007 3:22 pm

The goldstar bios may loose the battle but the goldstar controller will win the war!

DragonmasterDan
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:52 pm

How to determine?

Post by DragonmasterDan » Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:54 pm

I have a Goldstar (as well as an FZ-10) how do I determine if mine is one of the models more likely to have freeze ups?
--DragonmasterDan

Post Reply