Shootout at Old Tucson

All general 3DO chat here please.

Moderators: 3DO Experience, Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
3DO Si
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:47 am

Shootout at Old Tucson

Post by 3DO Si » Sun May 12, 2013 9:19 pm

Interesting and mega rare Shootout at Old Tucson just came up on eBay. Is this something even bitrate doesn't own??

I've never seen it on eBay before, would be nice to see some photos of the internal workings of this thing.

Pick up only, so that's me out then!


http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111072253036

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Sun May 12, 2013 9:20 pm

Oh wow! I didn't know they used the 3DO for arcade games.

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Sun May 12, 2013 10:08 pm

Wow. Looks pretty cool.


Looks like they could use the money for a camera. And the missing 90 degree's.

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Sun May 12, 2013 10:17 pm

Those photos are awful!
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
k1ngarth3r
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:41 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England
Contact:

Post by k1ngarth3r » Sun May 12, 2013 10:52 pm

How come the video quality of this game in the arcade is much better than the home ports from ALG?
Most wanted:
3DO Magazine Issue 10 - 15

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Mon May 13, 2013 9:07 am

k1ngarth3r wrote:How come the video quality of this game in the arcade is much better than the home ports from ALG?
I don't know for sure, but perhaps this "arcade-based" 3DO system had slightly better hardware (similar to the co-Jag arcade architecture)? Or, the company was able to tap into the full potential of the platform, since they didn't technically have to make the game compatible on each model of 3DO (if I remember reading here correctly, there were or may have been performance differences between each 3DO system, but games were made to work with a specific standard or limitation in mind so they would run the same way on each model of 3DO system? If I am wrong, some please correct me :)).

User avatar
pitsunami
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: GREECE

Post by pitsunami » Mon May 13, 2013 10:48 am

I own a 3do arcade setup and the cds
of tucson and mad dog 2,i have also dumped
them for the scene.

It is indeed very rare to find a complete
cab,if i was in usa i would take it...

The arcade 3do console is a retail one but
with a different bios. It didnt make it in
the arcades cause it needs a lot of time
loading.

User avatar
GuruMeditation
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by GuruMeditation » Mon May 13, 2013 8:24 pm

pitsunami wrote:It didnt make it in the arcades cause it needs a lot of time loading.
Plus, the 3DO laser wore out very quickly in an arcade environment. We discussed this game before. Nice to see the original cabinet. 8)

http://cdinteractive.co.uk/3do/forum/vi ... php?t=1027
ImageImage

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Mon May 13, 2013 9:15 pm

Interesting stuff! :)

Post Reply