Underground 3do games

All general 3DO chat here please.

Moderators: 3DO Experience, Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Plissken
3DO ZERO USER

Underground 3do games

Post by Plissken » Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:46 pm

Hi, i'm new on these boards. My interest in 3do has started only recently, so i'm pretty new to the field, even if i remember reading a lot about 3do and it's games on magazines when i was a kid in the '90s. My interest was sparkled from a rare and unknown japanese game: doctor hauzer. It's a sort of precursor of Resident Evil. The game evolves in many ways the gameplay of Alone in the Dark, focusing it on puzzles (there aren't combats in this game) and exploration. The camera's angle is selectable: third view, overview and first view. This is very interesting and unusual for a game of that time. Even if the game is in japanese, it's fully playable and understandable even for non japanese speakers.
Another rare and interesting japanese only game is the letter that came overtime: it's developed by thinking rabbit, a company which produced some really interesting adventures for the PC-88 and the Sharp X68000. The game is a cartoon adventure, with an engine similar to the one used in japanese adventures like snatcher: you select the action from a list of verbs and play in first person. Unfortunately my japanese isn't so good to understand the game and got stuck really early. But the music and the graphics are really nice and the game deserves a try. Like other thinking rabbit's game the plot seems to be focusing on time travel and murder.

That's it. I'd like to hear more about strange and unknown titles for 3do. Thank you.

Trev
3DO ZONE MOD

Post by Trev » Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:17 pm

You are in the right place, welcome aboard.

BTW, if you have any pics of the latter game I'd love to see them as it is an import that is MIA from my collection.

Have fun! :)

bitrate
3DO DEMI-GOD

Post by bitrate » Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:17 pm